Washington NASA Space Grant Consortium

WSGC Reception and Poster Session

2014 group photo

+ enlarge
To learn more about our student programs, please download our 2014 reception program (4.4MB). To view photos and presentation slideshows from the event, please visit our Facebook page.

On September 26, the 2014 Washington NASA Space Grant Reception and Poster Session was held at the new Alder Commons, just off the main campus of the University of Washington. The annual gathering highlights research being conducted by undergraduates and graduate students from different institutions participating in a variety of Space Grant programs.

This year more than 80 research posters were presented by participants in the Space Grant Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP); student interns from campuses around the state and NASA research centers around the country; and private industry interns working at Tethers Unlimited Inc.

Among those recognized were members of the student rocket teams from Northwest Indian College, winners of tribal challenge and supersonic challenge at the First Nations Rocket Launch competition. The rocket designed for the supersonic challenge broke the sound barrier at more than 767 mph and will be displayed later this year at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. Other schools that either sent attendees or submitted posters and photographs were Central Washington University, Seattle University, Washington State University, Western Washington University and Whitworth University. The welcome was given by Werner Stuetzle, divisional dean of the UW College of Arts & Sciences.

The event drew approximately 150 students, faculty, and parents. Representatives of the Museum of Flight, Seattle Central College, and Washington Aerospace Scholars were among the attendees.

The annual reception also recognizes the Space Grant donors and partners who make these awards possible. In addition to their support from Space Grant, the scholars and student researchers have received awards from Louise and Irving R. Donnergaard Endowment, the Sigurd Olsen Endowment, the Lt. Col. Michael P. Anderson Memorial Diversity Scholarship, the Dovie Samuelson Endowed Scholarship,the UW Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Program, Washington Sea Grant, the Washington State Opportunity Scholarship, and the Mary Gates Endowment for Students.